Life as a Stick Shift…

It feels like I’m constantly needing to shift into the I-don’t-give-a-damn gear! I’m finding that living my life often involves risking the approval and acceptance of others, choosing a path that challenges “the way it’s supposed to be,” or just facing the plain and simple fear of screwing up. Oh, how I wish I could do life without dealing with any of that! It would be great if I could live life AND everyone be happy with me, live life AND fall into line, live life AND be guaranteed that everything I fear could happen won’t happen. Sign me up!

But it doesn’t seem to be that way. My life is like driving a stick in Chicago bumper-to-bumper traffic. You can’t just coast along; there’s a lot of shifting going on.

via Jim Palmer » Blog Archive » The I-Don’t-Give-A-Damn-Gear.

3 thoughts on “Life as a Stick Shift…

  1. James Kirk says:

    Makes me think of the TOS episode THE PARADISE SYNDROME.We need challenges, hurdles, Chicago traffic – it makes us stronger. It’s what makes us human. The important thing is to get regular tune-ups and have good tires.

  2. […] life: caffeinated sharing life & coffee together HomeAboutBooks 2010 RSS ← Life as a Stick Shift… […]

Leave a Reply

