what a difference…

What a difference a year makes. Or rather, what a strange new world in around twelve months. Last February I was on the road. I was in Lititz, PA, working on requirement documents for a customer. I’ve enjoyed business travel over the years. Meeting new folks, building relationships across the country, seeing how other people live and work and do their thing – that’s exciting to me. And honestly, I was ready to keep doing it for years to come.

Eight months ago, I was working in the group that was implementing those notes – making the ideas and thoughts of a couple of meetings and trips come through as a working productive business system. Seven months ago, the inkling of the idea of a change in my personal path was growing to the size of a man’s fist just above the horizon. Six months ago…

Well, six months ago from today I was on day four or so of a new job. My first new job in 19+ years. I left the group working on the systems we’d designed in our heads and in Word docs. I left the ID Card and car hanger tag and laptop on the desk of my supervisor, one of my friends. And I started working for a new boss with a new ID Card, driving to a new parking lot for the Mini Cooper, sitting in front of a new PC that eventually gained a second monitor, and thankfully still having the opportunity to work for a friend.

If there’s a moral to this story, it’s that wherever you are now, don’t bet it’ll be the exact same this time next year. Or, on the other hand, maybe it will. For better or for worse, where you are in February 2011 will depend hugely on what you want to do now, what you want to do in August 2010, what you want to change and live and work through. Or not change, not live through, not work out. I could still be happy in my former job – well, I’m not sure of that, but I had settled into it for the even longer haul. But through the decisions to change, to accept change, to embrace and take on the challenge of change – through all that, here I am right now.

It’s a different world – and I’m good with that.

3 thoughts on “what a difference…

  1. Todd R. Vick says:

    Very good post, chum. Struck a nice chord with me. I needed that.

  2. I don’t know why you have to skip around what you are really trying to say; you love your new job because of me; just come out and say it.

  3. James Kirk says:

    No truer words, Rickwell. A year ago I had a big office and a steady job on the West Coast, three cars and a house in the burbs and had just purchased my earlybird pass for the 2009 Seattle International Film Festival. Today I am 3000 miles away, unemployed, watching movies at the mall and need brakes for the one car I drove out here. But I have plans.

Leave a Reply

