steady

I think I’m on a pretty even keel most of the time. I’m one of the even-keel-ingest people I know. And my thought tonight is that most people probably think that of themselves, too. I mean, you only have yourself to compare yourself to – so you probably, like me, see about half of your friends as being more negative and about half being more Pollyanna-ish leaving you as the normal average one. Am I right?

When I write, I want those comparisons to stay away. I don’t want to be average, but I think that’s the best place to start. I want to evoke emotion. But I want it to be real, to be uncoaxed and underived. I want you the reader to think for yourself, with my only input being the words on the page/screen. I want your estimation of average to sit down with my estimation of average and have a coffee or two over what’s being shared.

I’m not going to tell you what to think. I’ve already got the thought that it’s pretty good, so I honestly don’t need the pedestal. What I need is to know that something real has transpired over these pixels, that you and I have had something, well, “average” happen between us.

So, no expectations – if anything, perhaps slightly lower than average expectation on my part since your average might in fact have the better of my average, meaning you should’ve stepped up to the plate to write this out instead of me. But I digress.

My point, if there is one, is that average might be the ultimate starting place as well as the ultimate goal. That space with the most meaning, the highest point in the Bell curve, might be the best place to write from, to read from, to think from, and then from there to move forward together.

Average and absolutely brilliant aren’t that far from each other. But I’ll leave that for you to decide.

7 thoughts on “steady

  1. Alex says:

    Hmmm. Average. Not sure I like the sound of that. Because average is simply an extrapolation of many different points, both above an below, much the same way normal is. I know I’m not average, and neither are you. I don’t mean that in a bragging kind of way, but in recognition of the uniqueness of our individuality. I prefer not to think in terms of averages, because that requires comparison – and I choose not to compare myself to anyone. I seek my own level in all that I do – where that is in relation to others is irrelevant.
    The distance between average and brilliant isn’t that far – but there’s usually a fair amount of work between. Genius is one percent inspiration and 99 percent perspiration – Thomas Edison

  2. Rick says:

    Are you saying I need deodorant? or that I don’t? 🙂

  3. Todd R. Vick says:

    Nice post, my friend. Of all the people I know, you are the most above average, and yet that never comes off of you. You’re just a real guy trying to figure it all out one day at a time. You love God, and love others; and you listen. You ask questions and do not condemn. You remain steadfast and neutral, but your friends always know you are there for them.

    You make the rest of us husbands and fathers to want to do better. I hope that one day, you can see the masses of people who you have influenced by your life.

    You’re a good man, Charlie Brown.

  4. Rick says:

    So… that’s a NO on the deodorant then?

    There’s probably a follow-up post on this somewhere down the line, something that’ll evoke emotion rather than prop up my instability, or perceived lack thereof. 🙂

  5. Alex says:

    Well, I’m going to say don’t for the moment, though that may change if you come to work without taking a shower first. 😉

  6. James Kirk says:

    You are indeed king of the even keel. Your approach to writing reminds me of reading Vonnegut on his approach to writing. Clear, steady, simple. Never EVER use a semi-colon. Don’t write above people. Don’t write down to them either. Stead as she goes, Mr. Sulu!

  7. Rick says:

    Thanks, gentlemen. I think.

Leave a Reply

