evening cup of coffee

I came in the house this evening and made a cup of coffee. Then I moved on to a couple of things that I should have done days ago that were now late and pressing and really needed to be done. But I did the cup of coffee first, and after that, lived life.

It’s important to me to make things right, to get done what I can, and to work out whatever junk builds up over the course of the journey. Whether it’s work or home or family or socializing online – whatever it is, it’s important to me to have a clear conscience from a job well-done, or at least a job done well enough to get us to the next one. My laziness and my tendency to settle for “just enough” often win out, but when I can – just do it.

I’m too judgmental of people from afar. I see things online, notice word choice and dramatic emphasis, and I lift myself onto my soapbox and point my fault-finding-stubby-finger at the deluded masses. But coming in tonight, standing over my keurig while my single cup of gingerbread blend spilled into my bodum double-walled cup, I was reminded that, honestly, I’m not all that.

My cup of coffee and I went to the PC to burn a CD for our daughter’s upcoming skate exhibition. And then I talked with sonny boy about his science fair project due at the end of the week. Then I talked to my wife about dinner plans, who would go to WalMart, and whether we needed rubber cement or would hot glue do the trick – the stuff of “just do it”.

4 thoughts on “evening cup of coffee

  1. Melissa says:

    I love this post. It’s amazing how coffee and put everything in perspective.

  2. Rick says:

    Or at least let this one be the prologue for the post below on “doing it anyway”, right? šŸ™‚

  3. Melissa says:

    Ha, and I just saw my typo. Coffee *can* put everything in perspective. You totally judged my word choice, didn’t you? šŸ˜‰

  4. Rick says:

    Judging spelling – ME? No way. Karma is way too powerful to do that. Out loud.

Leave a Reply

