tipping points and rocking boats

One of the things that I like about travel and adventure is the relative freedom to ponder the deep stuff of life. That won’t come as a shock to most folks – I usually think too deeply for my own good, not paying attention to what I’m stepping in, if you know what I mean. But there’s stillsomething to be said for taking the time to drink deeply from the well of wisdom and creativity in Christ, right?

Lately, my mind has been preoccupied with thoughts of my own place in this world. Who am I, and why am I here? More and more, I’m seeing my partiular role as being that of a tipping point, or a tipper, someone put here to rock the boat just a little to maybe allow some to see a different way. All my life, I’ve cherished those times when someone “gets it”, when their ears perk up and their eyes get big and their hearts go “ooooooooohh, well that makes sense” in thier new found reality. When I get down, it’s usually because that has backfired – because I’ve overstepped my own bounds somewhere and started rocking harder or tipping more violently than needed. It can be such a subtle thing, such a nuanced moved – and when I get to uppity with myself, I find that I lose that sense of proportion.

When big events change our lives, it’s usually something sudden and surprising, and ultimately, it’s not a huge change. When those big things happen, it shows who we are – not what we’re becoming or how we’re changing. But if it’s slow, melodic, moving through our lives and days and thoughts over longer periods of time, that’s the real change that will really matter in really having an impact that’ll really last.

Or at least that’s what I’ve found to be true in me, and what I’ve found to be most helpful and longlasting in others. So, all that to say/type that I’m hopeful about my place as a tipping point in this world, and hopeful that I won’t be so darn pushy about it in the lives of people around me each day.

Leave a Reply

