sunshine on the weekend

IMG_0267 Any more, I'm finding that Life is in the living. That might be a "well, duh" statement, but I think I've missed out on things in Life because of extraneous distractions. This morning, I'm just taking it in a little slower, a little steadier, a little more purposefully ("purposefullier"?).

Vicki and I slept in until almost 8am, and I offered to run to the store for breakfast stuff we both new was lacking downstairs. I enjoy a quick run to BiLo when it's not crowded – like before a "snowstorm" or a bowl game. I found Blue Mountain Dew – how cool is that? Like drinking carbonated Windex. And I picked up croissants, some waffles, chinese food for dinner, fixings for cheese quesadillas, chips, peanut butter – just a quick trip.

I'm helping our eldest work on a video gaming project for the tech student association. We've downloaded the Adventure Gaming Studio engine to build what needs to be a five-level educationally based adventure game. Sounds like fun, if only he can get his mind around needing to get to work. Daughter has skating lessons later this afternoon, and Vicki just walked out the kitchen door to a gift-card-charged massage.

Okay, change that – the son that needs to work on a project would rather not, so he's in the "not" mode in his room doing absolutely nothing. That'll be another whole post on how just doing what you need to do and getting it over with is usually the best policy. But he's learning that in a different venue, I suppose.

Time for me to get to work a bit, too, so I'll wrap up this stream of whatever post thinking about the sunshine, the coffee, and blue Mountain Dew.

6 thoughts on “sunshine on the weekend

  1. Mark L says:

    I think that shopping cart needs some more fruits and vegatables!

  2. Rick says:

    There’s fruit in there – Blue Mtn Dew is RASPBERRY Flavored. Got it covered-ish.

  3. Steve says:

    “Blue Mountain Dew is made of people!”–quick nod to Heston’s “Soylent Green.”
    Hearing about your boy’s project brings me back, oh, 23 years to a young Mr. Stilwell feverishly finishing up a HARP term paper the night before it was due. The streets of Lloydwood were noticeably quiet the Sunday before due date.

  4. Rick says:

    Has absolutely nothing to do with tihs current conversation.

  5. jen says:

    ummm… there’s something wrong with a soda like that — the color does not appear in nature and i’d have a problem drinking it for that reason.

  6. James says:

    Mountain Dew??? Blue???? Don’t you get enough caffine with your wake-up, morning, breakfast, mid-morning, late-monring, lunch, afternoon, dinner and after dinner coffees? I know I do. No room for Dew.

Leave a Reply

