reading in the new year

Update – Facebook Group here

This was an interesting post in my google reader this afternoon, a friendly competition in reading. While I am not the fastest or most prolific reader, I do think I can stand my ground with some of my family and friends. So, if you're up for it – leave a comment take up the challenge. We'll work something out and crown a winner in December 2009.

Bethcooper Here's my first one, I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle, as recommended by Josh and Kevin. And as I start this "exhibition" (it's not a ""competition" until someone joins in, right?), I vow to focus on unfinished books in my bookcases at least until Easter. The last time I resolved to do that, I made it to April before running out of good reads.

Take a photo of your book, doesn't count until you've finished it and posted, and tie-breaker will be number of pages read. How's that? Join in if you'd like – or not, and watch me have a pathetic "competition with myself"… the choice is yours.

UPDATE - So far, here are our contestants:

13 thoughts on “reading in the new year

  1. vicki says:

    I’ll play.. because we know you NEVER finish any of your books!!!

  2. Rick says:

    Need to finish them sometime so we can move them off the nightstand, right?

  3. rick says:

    I tried keeping a log of what I’d read in one year with blurb reviews and got disgusted because it was more trouble than I’d anticipated. If I were to join in, I’d end up feeling guilty for not keeping up with posting my results.

  4. BJ says:

    I’ll play…
    BJ

  5. tabitha says:

    Ok, this seems to simple. It’s a competition to read? So I read books that I haven’t finished, post them, and read more?
    I can do that. No problem.
    Now for the silly question…do books I haven’t started reading yet count?

  6. hagelrat says:

    so are you going to be blogging your reading?
    Happy reading in 2009.

  7. Rick says:

    I’ll be blogging what I read, reviewing a few, and starting with books that I’ve started and not finished. The comp is for FINISHING books 🙂 not for starting.

  8. tabitha says:

    ok. now i have to gather up the books i haven’t finished. hmmm…i wonder if most of them are still in boxes in the garage? well…i have at least two in sight.
    is the comp going till easter or the whole year?

  9. Rick says:

    “Competition” is the whole year. When I’v resolved in the past to read only the ones I already started, took me to about Easter. Then I picked up new books again – but it helped clear the shelves a bit and move on 🙂

  10. Janet says:

    I had two friends commit in my comments. I’m oddly excited about this.

  11. I’m down man, I would love ot give it a shot.

  12. jeremy says:

    i’m in, but what if i start a book, and then get tired of it, so i FINISH reading it by putting it back on the shelf? …
    how about short books, do they count… like 40 page books… come on, guidelines and stuff sir.

  13. Jennifer says:

    I’ll play! And I already joined the Facebook group.

Leave a Reply

