Where’s The Beef?

In scrolling down the page that is this blogsite, I find that I've been terribly deficient in providing actual content. There are pictures and video and a scattered meme or two, but no meat – no beef – no meaningful blah blah blah that I'm sure both of you have come to expect you'll need to ignore. One of the problems is that I like this wide main column because it gives good room for posting photos – but the width is perhaps too wide to make text just pop out. That's right, the width is hindering the depth, maybe.

IMG_0998 Anyway, the lack of posting hasn't been the fault of a lack of deep thoughts. Mostly, those thoughts find their way to the Twitterversein 140-character bursts, like a quasar rotating and pulsing, pulsing and rotating, scattering high-energy particles in whatever perpendicular direction… Okay, not quite like that. But it's been the outlet-of-choice lately, to the chagrin and/or humor of those following. Some of the thoughts that have filled my head for the better part of 2008 have been political, and there's not much overflow now that the Elections of '08 are over, now that we're heading into '09 for the next phase of our nation's history. The void hasn't filled in yet, those brain cells having given their all in defense of the whacked out way I think. I follow a few "reformed thinkers" on Twitter, Christians with a particular bent in the reformed tradition, and the counterbalance some of the non-denom folks and emergent types that I follow as well – so my "deep thoughts" have to wade through those to find helpful things, needful things, positive meaningful things to hang on and chew for a spell.

For this Christmas season, I find myself once again needing to be more intentional about living out what Christ is building within. If the people closest to you don't know what you're doing, or can't see where you're growing, then maybe you're not. Maybe I'm not – at least, I'm not in the ways I thought I have been. That last sentence made no sense grammatically – and I think I'm kind of proud of that. Regardless, I hope the end of 2008 turns into something fun and life-giving in 2009.

2 thoughts on “Where’s The Beef?

  1. Alan says:

    Deep thoughts are best left to those who have ventured out of the shallow part of the pool- well beyond reach of the buoy rope. I, for one, am still kicking around in the warm kiddy pool. Perhaps we’ve all been just fine with the lighter side of Rick up til now. Come to think of it, if a tree falls in the woods and no one is there to hear it, does it still make a sound? Help, I’m drowning…

  2. Patrick says:

    Rick, this one carries a lot of meaning for me, too.
    Thanks for saying this.

Leave a Reply

