Mutuality

For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you– that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine. – Paul, Romans 1:11-12

I like the way this passage reads, probably because it resonates with me and how I view things. "I can’t wait to see you to give you something important… but wait… what am I thinking… to really get together and learn from each other". Over the years I’ve come towards the "learn from each other" side of the equation. It’s too hard to have all the answers, to be the unyileding omniscient know-it-all – not to mention that it’s also impossible and life-draining. But each of us has something to offer to the whole, and I do hope I bring something that matters to the conversation. Leaving myself open to also learn from "you" means that we are in this together and better for it.

One thought on “Mutuality

  1. Michelle says:

    Yes, it’s called the fellowship of believers! So often we think fellowship is going off to some activity together – bowling or a movie, for instance. But the real purpose is to talk about the Saviour and have Him present as we mutually practise exhortation. The other week we had a Leadership Luau. It was a theme dinner party for the leadership of the Good News Chapel. Do you know we spent several hours all sharing out testimonies? This is how we learn from one another, and are blessed in the learning.

Leave a Reply

