Scatterbrained

Micheal Hyatt posted "What The Internet Is Doing To Our Brains" the other day, and I was intrigued. This morning he adds a twit link to this article on students multitasking in class. The basic premise is that students in a class were doing just about everything except listening to the professor – what was being taught was deep, needed thought, was really good stuff, but for students caught in IMing, shopping on eBay, rearranging Facebook, etc etc etc, it was being lost in the shuffle of way too much stuff going on.

I wanted to argue with that second article, because I’m one that considers myself a multitasker as well. But I couldn’t argue. I know I lose out on the particular by getting way too involved in the multitasking general. It’s to the point in me that I have to make myself put down the laptop, put down the cellphone, put down the remote and really actuall read a real book. Or put down the remote so I’ll watch just one TV show at a time. Or turn off the TV to focus in on a podcast, or conversation with my wife.

I’ve always been the one in the middle of four or five books at once, probably missing out on more than I’ve been thinking. Right now, I want to finish The Killer Angels before picking up anything else, then focusing again on one book to the finish if it’s worth reading well, you know? Same with work, making sure that I’m focusing on one task at a time, giving it my full attention, working things through my to-do list by priority.

3 thoughts on “Scatterbrained

  1. maryann says:

    found this piece of life advice in my inbox this morning…
    i am supposed to guess who originally said it…
    “All things will be produced in superior quantity and
    quality, and with greater ease, when each man works at a
    single occupation, in accordance with his natural gifts, and
    at the right moment, without meddling with anything else.”

  2. Rick says:

    There must be something to this “be real to yourself” and “focus on the right things” thoughts going around, huh? Thanks for sharing – let me know when you find the original quotee 🙂

  3. maryann says:

    Here’s one last quote from Plato:
    “I never did anything worth doing by accident, nor did any
    of my inventions come by accident; they came by work. ”

Leave a Reply

