The Freedom of Froot Loops

Twitted this morning: I think freedom of the unknown is scarier than the bondage of our comfort zones. Something like that.

Img_3464 Our kids ate Froot Loops this morning – my favorites were always the red ones, but I still think they all taste the same, don’t they? It’s a busy hectic week with Missus Caffeinated directing the spring play Thur and Fri, and our daughter’s play last night at school, too. I appreciate my family when things are hectic, and we just do what needs to be done to get through the week. Get up, fix breakfast, eat the red ones, brush teeth and get dressed for heading out the door to the world together. It’s not always smooth, but sometimes we surprise ourselves, I think.

I had a stilted conversation-ish thing with my brother yesterday. He’s a youth pastor dealing with much of what lots of folks in ministry deal with. It’s frustrating, along with the triumphs and joys. Since I’m so good with unsolicited and offbase advice, I tossed in my two cents. That was probably a bad idea, and I probably knew that going in. Our back-and-forth dealt with expectations – what does it mean to meet them? what are they? can they actually hold us back, make us blind to other possibilities? I think I lost him somewhere in there, and probably lost my own mind along the way, too.

But here’s the deal, what I think I was reading between the lines – sometimes, we do things and expect certain results. When we don’t get those expected outcomes, we spend time finding the problem, studying the processes, rethinking the methods. But what if what we’re doing is actually really good, and we’ve just misjudged what we thought would come out the backend? What if what’s coming through is better, maybe more meaningful or transformational than what we thought we were working for in the first place?

And that led me to my burst of whatever this morning, when I twitted, "I think freedom of the unknown is scarier than the bondage of our comfort zones. Something like that". Maybe it’s easier to keep doing what we’re doing, to vent a bit and root around for problems a bit, then just keep on doing whatever it was we were doing, hoping for some reason unknown presently that we’ll find out it was okay. I know it’s easier for me to move on and not change something, than to push through the brickwall of my self-perceived incompetence. But I’m also discovering that sometimes, my outlook on the outcomes needs to be tweaked a bit, and my expectations need to be raised and broadened, not dropped or tossed aside.

3 thoughts on “The Freedom of Froot Loops

  1. James Kirk says:

    Freedom of the unknown is scary, but I think there is freedom WITHIN the fear of the unknown… which yeilds possibilities, truth, perhaps, and self-discovery. Call it freedom of the fear of the unknown, something like that. I’ve been ruminating on such things recently. There can be freedom in being in an uncertain place, if one embraces it. But narrow or unrealistic expectaions can crush the spectrum of possibilities that might emerge from that unknown.

  2. Rick says:

    Along the lines of me hearing “encouraging” and “challenging” working together all the time, I think. Embracing freedom and not holding back – sounds like a job change?

  3. Todd says:

    I heartily agree with James, and I like the last paragraph you wrote. I am in a stretching place right now. I am taking a look to see what is out there that I may have missed due to fear of stepping outside what is comfortable.
    Thank you, kind fellow travellers.

Leave a Reply

