Emergent Eschmergent

Some of the discussion about emergent church stuff can get pretty stuffy, and some can get goofy. This list is just funny: Top 50 Possible Reasons Why You’re Not Emergent. Here’s a couple of my favorites –

48. I just don’t like Doug Pagitt. He scares me.
46. I don’t like Rob Bell’s hair.
42. Mark Driscoll told me I couldn’t.
40. I heard from this guy who knew this lady who had a brother who was Emergent and he went blind doing it.
34. Where would I be without absolute truth.
17. If it doesn’t have the letters SBC in it, I’m not interested.
11. I refuse to switch to Apple.
3. But then I might have to really have faith.

4 thoughts on “Emergent Eschmergent

  1. TeacherDave says:

    Hey man, I hold 48, 42, and 11 to be totally legitimate. 🙂

  2. maryann says:

    i think number 3 is the one…actually listening to the conversation and really opening up your mind that you DONT have all the answers…it will cause you to think and dig and wrestle…and who has time to do all that with all the church activities we have to attend to?

  3. maryann says:

    7. I refuse to grow a soul patch
    i think my husband would agree…this would NOT be a good thing. hahah

  4. Rick says:

    Dave – I knew you would say that :), but in a good way of course.
    Maryann – agreeing with your hubby 🙂

Leave a Reply

