Big Ol’ Jet Airliner

I’ll never understand why CAE, the smallish airport serving metropolitan Columbia, SC, considers it a plus to offer free wi-fi, and ATL, the large ginormous hub for the world in Atlanta, GA, offers no such free service. So all my work and email checking and catching up on last-minute to-do’s have to be squeezed into the one hour wait I have here before leaving. And I’ll be pretty much inaccessible during the three-hour layover in ATL. That’s ridiculous.

I’ve only got one book, Doug Pagitt’s A Christianity Worth Believing – pre-release advance copy from one of the publicists. I like Doug’s style, fairly conversational and knowledgeable, with just enough challenge and tweak to it to make it meaningful. I might pick up something else in ATL, or might just settle in with my earbuds and Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything.

This is a last-minute trip to San Juan for a customer site workweek. I haven’t been there since June 2006, I think. Looking forward to a quiet unassuming get-lots-of-stuff done trip.

2 thoughts on “Big Ol’ Jet Airliner

  1. Paul J. says:

    I agree with you about the ATL. Totally dumb. And why does St. Arbucks still charge for it?
    Earlier this year, I was in a luxury resort (not on my own dime) in Florida…rooms starting at $400 something per night…and THEY didn’t have free wi-fi! What’s the deal?

  2. Rick says:

    Free wi-fi in the hotel, but it’s not a great signal. All good, all humid, all the time.

Leave a Reply

