Afraid of Hell?

Img_3185 from Jim Palmer, Divine Nobodies:

today, a friend sent me the following quote:

“Religion is for people who are afraid of hell, spirituality is for people who have been there.”

i could relate to the quote in that fear was a prominent characteristic of a my former “religious” life, but fear never brought liberation. on the other hand, suffering motivated me to seek truth earnestly, and the truth i discovered has brought freedom. in general, i understand the significance of Jesus to relate to the afterlife, and more or less viewed the now-life as biding my time. i don’t judge or condemn my former religious life because it is part of what led me to where i am now. therefore, i can’t judge or condemn others and their religious involvements. sometimes you have to work through a process of elimination before you uncover the truth, and religion helped me knock several things off my list.

3 thoughts on “Afraid of Hell?

  1. Steve says:

    Great response. I’ve seen that bumper sticker. Unfortunately and obviously, it shows no comprehension of the true nature of hell, or the difference between ‘religion’ and the relationship with Christ that is Christianity.

  2. Rick says:

    I think I’m leaning the other way with this one, because the “fear of hell” that drives most folks to “religion” isn’t what it’s cracked up to be and doesn’t ultimately change any of us.

  3. iggy says:

    I was one of those freaks that wanted to go to hell… it’s a long story… but fear of hell was really never one of my motivations…
    Now, being a “good Christian” later was a motivation that lead me to despair as I never felt i met the grade… which I never did.
    But real change came to me after God’s Grace was revealed to me and MY “works” were revealed for what they really were… dung.
    Have a Great Easter Rick and give my love to your family.
    iggy

Leave a Reply

