Profession of Faith

Img_2844_2 Our son made a profession of faith this past Friday night at the WinterJam concert. This is a big deal for him, and for us, and I don’t want to take any of it lightly. At the same time, I want to feel out what’s happened in his own understanding, to see what he thinks he’s done, why he did it at this point in time, what the tipping point for him might have been. I don’t want to take anything for granted.

It’s definitely a situation where I want to encourage him in a direction that avoids some of the junk I’ve experienced. I want to give him help him find a well-rounded faith of his own, not just living off what others have told him or what someone else has said is important. And I don’t want him to fall victim to the traps of legalism that have tripped up too many of us over the years. I don’t have rose-colored glasses, and I know that some of these are the things that he will have to discover on his own.

He was excited about having done this, and it showed. He wanted to tell us, knew we’d be proud and happy. I don’t ever want to kill any of that. I’d rather bottle it up and pour it out from time to time, you know? But on the flipside, he’s still processing in his own way what this means now. Folks at church yesterday "welcomed him to the family" and told him "good job – happy birthday", and the church vocab was confusing to him. I could see it in his eyes, in his body language, that this was still something not completely on his plate. I think that’s a good thing, too, allowing him to be in a teachable place, allowing me and his mom to be in that teachable place together with him.

[photo from last week’s field trip to Medieval Times]

9 thoughts on “Profession of Faith

  1. evane says:

    i really enjoy your blog posts.
    im burning your feed.

  2. Rick says:

    Thanks, evane – be careful with that. πŸ™‚

  3. George says:

    Awesome! Were there knights on horses at Winter Jam this year?

  4. Rick says:

    Not that I’m aware, but it might explain the need for salvation if you’re in the way of a charging lance…?

  5. Michelle says:

    WOW! That’s wonderful! That age of accountability. That decision to live for Christ. And die with Him.
    You should have told me this in Scrabulous!
    Mark 8:35
    For whosoever will save his life shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his life for my sake and the Gospel’s, the same shall save it.

  6. Rick says:

    “Age of accountability” – isn’t that like 45?

  7. Michelle says:

    Just so no one is questioning my theology, thought I’d clarify:
    I just meant he was “becoming a man” and making his own decision, not hanging on his parents’ spiritual laurels.

  8. Rick says:

    No worries – he needs his own laurels, barely enough room here for me on my own πŸ™‚

  9. Michelle says:

    I know the feeling! Anyway, what a happy day!

Leave a Reply

