On My Way to the ER

So I posted this video the other day (the ER scene, not "Godweiser") – that scene has been YouTubed to show how "postmodernism doesn’t get it" when it comes to God. I saw it differently, that the alternative being claimed is a legalism and shame-based religion, not the love, mercy and grace of God. I think it’s intelligent people seeing the same thing through different filters – I wanted the girl to be right, to be trying, while other friends wanted to see her faults and uncertainty as being unhelpful. But the ER Episode’s title, "Atonement", speaks to more than just one scene. So here’s a couple of clips from the show, in better context I think, after that opening one I posted last time.

Faith and Certainty are not enemies. Instead, I’ve come to find that they’re hanging out with Doubt and Questions, as well. One of the churchy problems I see is that we want to come across as having all the answers, that it’s a bad thing to have doubt or want to find something more meaningful than what we already have figured out. For all this man’s searching, his "atonement" is to live the life he’s been given the best he can, however that plays out, whomever that might touch. Some will forgive, some will be saved, and in the end it’s him and God trying to figure out what all this means. That’s dangerous and beautiful at the self-same time, isn’t it?

Editor’s Note: If you’re feed-reading, you might need to click through to the actual post to see both clips. Google Reader’s only showing one, and I’m not sure why.

2 thoughts on “On My Way to the ER

  1. Chuck says:

    Something that has always bothered me is how we as a church sorta hate on Thomas for being “the doubter,” and we paint him in such a way that the take away is Doubt != Faith. I like to think of Thomas as the guy who sought out the evidence, and was working those things out. And then, once he saw the evidence, he didn’t get pounced on by his friends.
    I have troubles with Universal Salvation (or Christain Universalism). Also, there is the post modern thinking regarding all truth is relative. That notion is not original to post modernism, but is as old as the question “what is truth?” I don’t agree with Protagoras either.
    I am not sure we should paint the notion of shame in a bad light, because at some point, that is one of the emotions that bubble up within a repentive heart. At least, to me, Psalm 51 came out of a sense of shame.
    Anyways, just my ramblings…

  2. Rick says:

    This is a free-range pro-rambling website, pal. Feel free.

Leave a Reply

