Crummy Church Signs

100_1239Found a fun new blogsite to add to my google reader: Crummy Church Signs. I think I’ve seen most of these driving through town today. Unbelievable.

One of the things that gets me is how "churchy" we can be, and how we collectively think that anyone not "getting it" is lost, unsaved, in need of whatever we have to offer – and then the best way to give that information is through more churchy signs that they don’t get… It’s a bad cycle, spiralling flushily down into toiletbowl eternity, isn’t it?

Vicki and I saw JUMPER last night – just to save you the admission price, don’t go. It would’ve been a decent TV pilot with "scenes from next week" – but it didn’t stand alone at all. I kept waiting for Padme to smack Anakin. Then T and I saw THE SPIDERWICK CHRONICLES this morning – much better movie, with a good story and actual dialogue between characters with real depth, something missing last night in the other flick.

Now I’m reading this and watching Saturday afternoon basketball. Not a bad way to start a weekend. Well, except for the movie last night. Never get those hours or $$ back, will I?

[and in honor of my church-sign buddy, Todd – here’s his "signs"; scroll down for the frivolity to begin…]

4 thoughts on “Crummy Church Signs

  1. Martha Moultrie Gerrick says:

    I’m glad to see your post about these signs. When my parent’s lived off of Mineral Springs road in West Columbia/Lexington, there was a church on Lephart road that always had these slogans on them and we used to always have the same types of commentary that Rick posted.
    We used to groan and wonder what kind of stupid pronouncement would be on there next. I guess they thought they were helping people in their own way and trying to provoke thought. Well, we just got provoked!

  2. Rick says:

    Fun stuff – they take religion so seriously that they end up not taking God seriously. I’m all for pithy statements. But unfunny ones, those stink.

  3. Todd says:

    Why didn’t I think of posting on crummy church signs? Oh yeah, I did, but failed to publish to a wider audience. Oh well.

  4. Rick says:

    Added your blast from the past – go thru that blog and find some of your old signs, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

