Book Blitz

I’ve gotten a few extra books over the past few weeks that might not get much site time, but I wanted to make sure I mentioned them. From the bottom up, there are two novels that Vicki is looking forward to reading over the weekend, or maybe by spring break:

  • Img_2478Miscarriage of Justice by Kip Gayden is a period piece set in turn-of-the-century Tennessee, starting at a christian summer camp in 1896, where our protagonists meet and fall in love. From my own christian summer camp experiences, I can only imagine that this will end badly – with the ensuing scandalous murder. If it leans more legal thriller, I’ll read it, too; but if it goes too heavily into the romance genre, I’ll be skipping large chunks most likely.
  • The next book heading up the stack is You Had Me at Good-bye, Tracey Bateman’s novel about the intrigue and hijinks inherent in the publishing industry. I think that story was done right by Chevy Chase in Funny Farm, but I’m willing to give this one a shot, too.
  • In I Became a Christian and All I Got Was This Lousy Tshirt, by Vince Antonucci, is another in the sub-genre of books written by pastors with a calling to move past the current stagnation many churches find themselves mired in. I mean no disrespect, but I’ve read enough of these to know that they are all probably hitting the right places with probably the same points and hopefully different anecdotes. I hope this one is different – more than that, I hope that the people picking this one up will be hit squarely where they need so they can be adjusted and moved and challenged accordingly, and then that they move on.
  • Next up the stack is I Would Die For You, from the Higgins Family, telling the story of their son BJ and his love for Christ. While on a mission trip, BJ contracted a fatal infection, and this book ties together entries from his journals with insights from his parents and friends into this sold-out 15-year-old.
  • Lastly, I’m going to just mention the top two before posting full-fledged reviews on the two top books – taking time to read through and process, give some feedback for anyone out there who might want to dig into them as well. Everything Much Change and The New Christians are both, in different ways, challenging the bejeebers out of me. More on those later next week, hopefully.
2 thoughts on “Book Blitz

  1. vince antonucci says:

    Hey – this is Vince, author of “…Lousy T-Shirt” – and my hopes for the book are the same as yours’! I hope it does for you and others what you say here. Thanks for picking it up…

  2. Rick says:

    Thanks for stopping by – praying for good returns on your book. Any ideas for “what’s next”?

Leave a Reply

