22 Years Ago

I was reminded on Mike’s blog that this is the anniversary of the Shuttle Challenger tragedy. It’s one of those vivid memories for me – I was in high school, senior year, goofing off or something, heading from the 100 to the 200 hall, when Steve told me the shuttle had exploded. I didn’t believe him – he’s a kidder, he kids – and whe I got to the library, I found that he’d been right. We watched the aftermath on the local news, wondering about the first teacher who hadn’t made it, the others who’d made their last trip into the cockpit. It still feels haunting today.

4 thoughts on “22 Years Ago

  1. George says:

    That’s weird. Apparently, I was there in the library watching it with you, but I don’t recall us being there together. I do still recall that shared, silent, errie feeling we both experienced.

  2. Mr. Harmless says:

    Wow. I had no idea that it had been that long.

  3. Rick says:

    Me either – funny how time passes and it was like yesterday.

  4. Martha says:

    It does feel like yesterday. Wow – 1986 what a great year!!! When the Columbia broke up while returning to earth in Feburary of 2003, it made me think of the Challenger. When I saw the live pictures of the Columbia on TV that Saturday morning, I knew those astronauts had died too. Very sad feeling.
    Hard to believe, but those shuttles were engineered with 1970’s technology. I know the newer ones have different aspects than the Columbia or Challenger did, but in essence that design/technology is more than 30 years old.

Leave a Reply

