But can he really inspire…?

I’m still just getting my feet wet in this political season, now that I’ve thrown my vote into the fray. After voting, I found the op-ed article from the NY Times where Caroline Kennedy speaks of him as maybe being the candidate who can finally inspire folks the way her father did in the 60s. The demogtraphics of the event were overwhelming to me, showing such a wide cross-section. When everyone seems to be looking for something so divisive, it looks like folks from all over found something to hang on to here. And then there’s Obama’s speech after the SC primary:

So can he inspire? I don’t know, but I have already posted this third post in a row on something political that’s not as biting and anti-establishment as I’ve seemed in the past, so there might be something to this. Pay attention to the rhetoric heading into the next couple of primaries and into the Feb. 5th proceedings next week. This might be fun to watch.

8 thoughts on “But can he really inspire…?

  1. Steve K. says:

    I watched the results and commentary last night on the Brave New Films Network (http://bravenewfilms.org/network), and I was frustrated by the number of far-left progressives who were bashing Obama for being “all inspiration and no substance.” I guess it’s all just a matter of perspective — to me the inspiration is the substance, or, rather, the sign that there is substance behind the words.
    No other candidate that I can recall is as inspiring and motivating as Barack Obama. He is someone who can unify this country and bring about the change in Washington that he is talking about. That is the change that our country needs right now, and he’s the only one who can do it. Hillary Clinton would just bring more gridlock and bitter political partisanship, and I’m sick and tired of that.
    Thanks for doing your patriotic duty and voting yesterday πŸ˜‰

  2. Rick says:

    Wait wait – “patriotic duty” is a red flag for me, so I might better back up a spell and re-digest what’s going on. I think I’ve done just as much of “my patriotic duty” in casting no vote as I did yesterday in casting some vote. Not disagreeing with your sentiment as much as I may be squinching my nose at the word choice. Another post soon, indeed.

  3. Martha Moultrie Gerrick says:

    Well, not to bash JFK (who Obama draws comparisons to), but one of the reasons that he is remembered as a great president is because he was killed while in office. While his efforts in the Cuban missile crisis were great and showed great skill and leadership, the Bay of Pigs was a fiasco and Kennedy did lay the groundwork for Vietnam. LBJ actually did the legwork for Kennedy’s ideas.
    I don’t think Obama is unqualified (maybe somewhat underqualified), but he is not nearly as qualified as others. And lets face it, if a woman with qualifications exactly equal to Obama’s were running for President, she would be laughed at for not having enough experience (State Senate and then 2 years in the US Senate). It sounds very cynical, but once I held the same job as a man with equal, and in some cases he had lesser credentials than me since I was certified as an auditor (for 4 years at that time) and he was not even certified and had never audited (I had 8 years of audit experience at that time), and I was paid $10,000 less a year than he was with the same job title and responsibilities. It really stings when it happens to you.

  4. Rick says:

    And this is where things get fuzzy, as we each have our own stories and experiences and life stuff to make meaningful decisions. It’s hard to not take most of this personally, and I think it should be hard to discount our personal opinions and stories here. Thanks, Mot, for sharing part of yours – makes you who you are.

  5. utech says:

    wow Rick I never knew you had some much pull with your blog πŸ˜‰
    i really like his spirit but I have fundamental differences with some of his positions and ideals, but then again I don’t think there is anyone who I completely agree with.
    I heard a national commentator say a few weeks ago that this will be Obama’s election to lose based on a number of factors.
    all I know is that we don’t EVER need another Bush or Clinton in the White House.
    can we just send them all home and start over?

  6. Martha Moultrie Gerrick says:

    Yes, I’d love to be done with those ‘character building’ experiences. Don’t I have enough character already?

  7. Rick says:

    Was that a rhetorical question? πŸ™‚

  8. Martha says:

    Yes, it was rhetorical! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

