Saturday GameDay

cash advanceIt’s Saturday – a typically lazy cozy day for us after what’s been a long stressed week. The Gamecocks are off today for football (though most would be able to make the case for them being "off" the past four or five weeks, too). But in basketball we get to play the Other USC – Southern Cal versus South Carolina tonight at the Colonial Center. With the way the football team has been living down to expectations, I’ve got to say that I’m pumped for basketball season.

After lunch with George yesterday at Cracker Barrel (complete with mutant straws), we hung out last night with my Dad and Memaw while Vicki & my Mom went to the Christmas Craft Fair. The best line I read concerning the upcoming holiday was from Brian Williams of NBC Nightly News on their blog: "It’s the holiday shopping season (formerly known simply as the holiday season)…" (ht: The Daily Nightly). I’ve got to be honest – I’m thinking simpler and cheaper for me this Christmas. There’s nothing I really want as gifts that would break the bank. In previous years we’ve given ourselves the big screen TV and the new family laptop, but honestly, a few tshirts, new underwear, and some iTunes/Starbucks cards, and I think I’m good. I can wait for one of these. At the same time, I want to go simple and fun for Vicki and the kids, too. "Simpler is Funner" Christmas sounds like a decent theme, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

