Again with Repentance

I posted Sunday that I was chewing on something deep. We usually have no problem with conviction over the bad things we do, over the sin in our lives. But when someone points a finger at my good stuff, I get defensively self-righteous, at least on the inside.

For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death.2 Cor 7:10

This verse was on my blog sidebar yesterday as well. For me, I think they work together, non-coincidentally. "Salvation without regret" – that’s a wonderful phrase. I wish I’d thought of it. How many people stay away from Jesus because of what they feel they would have to give up, what they would regret later leaving behind? How much of our evangelism, because it’s based on our survival instinct to avoid hell, is really "worldy grief producing death" instead of life? Do we do folks a disservice by making hell look so bad that heaven all of a sudden finally looks good – and then giving them a "get out of jail free" card by saying a prayer and sending them back on their way?

Maybe the "regret" is that we don’t understand real repentance. Maybe we still deal with alot of bad sinful carnal habits because we’re more wrapped up in "worldly grief" than in "godly grief that leads to real repentance".

Anyone else?

3 thoughts on “Again with Repentance

  1. Steve says:

    Good stuff, Rick. As I read this, I guess one could equate “salvation WITH regret” as a man who marries and focuses not on the love for his wife, but on “all the women he’ll never be with again.”

  2. Rick says:

    Or a more broad generalization came to mind – that someone grows up thinking “if I only get married then everything will be great”, and then finds out its not. Do we sell a bill of goods like that?

  3. Todd says:

    Good post, sire. Now you and Steve need to buy your wives some flowers.

Leave a Reply

